News

Ah Hong Young

Ah Hong Young

Soprano

“Fearlessness and consummate artistry” (Opera News)

A soprano of "fearlessness and consummate artistry" (Opera News), Ah Young Hong has interpreted a vast array of repertoire, ranging from the music of Monteverdi to Kurtág. Widely recognized for her work in Michael Hersch's monodrama, On the Threshold of Winter, The New York Times praised Ms. Hong’s performance in the world premiere as "the opera's blazing, lone star." Other operatic performances by Ms. Hong include the title role in Monteverdi's L'incoronazione di Poppea, Morgana in Handel's Alcina, Gilda in Verdi's Rigoletto, Fortuna and Minerva in Monteverdi's Il ritorno d'Ulisse in patria, and Asteria in Handel's Tamerlano. She has also appeared with Opera Lafayette in Rebel and Francoeur's Zélindor, roi des Sylphes at the Rose Theater in Lincoln Center and as La Musique in Charpentier's Les Arts Florissants at the Kennedy Center. At the 2020 Wien Modern Festival, Ms. Hong has been engaged to sing the title role in the world premiere of Michael Hersch’s POPPAEA.

In high demand as a concert and chamber soloist, Ms. Hong has performed with Mahler Chamber Orchestra, FLUX Quartet, Konzerthaus Berlin’s ensemble-in-residence, Ensemble unitedberlin, the acclaimed Netherland-based contemporary music group Ensemble Klang, The Daedalus Quartet, Wiener KammerOrchester, Phoenix Symphony, Charleston Symphony Orchestra, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra, Mendelssohn Club of Philadelphia, Concert Artists of Baltimore, and Tempesta di Mare, amongst others. In summer of 2018, she gave her Ojai Festival debut with violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja in György Kurtág’s complete Kafka Fragments. Ms. Hong also appeared as soloist during the 2018 Aldeburgh Music Festival and on the CalPerformances series in Berkeley. Alex Ross from The New Yorker praised her performances as “commanding” and “transfixing.”

In 2019-2020, she will be championing the role in Hersch's On the Threshold of Winter once again with Cantata Profana in New York City at Brooklyn’s Irondale. Ms. Hong will also return to Kurtág's Kafka Fragments with violinists Jacob Ashworth at Spectrum NYC, Hirono Oka with Network for New music in Philadelphia, and with Patricia Kopatchinskaja on the Seattle Symphony Orchestra’s chamber series. The season also includes a residency at Vanderbilt University Blair School of Music performing with pianists Mark Wait, Jacob Rhodebeck, and violinist Carolyn Huebl. In 2020, she will perform Nørgård's Nova Genitura and Seadrift and Bach's Kantate 82a Ich habe genug with earspace; Beethoven's Symphony No. 9 under the baton of Marin Alsop and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Ms. Hong joins forces with Ms. Kopatchinskaja, clarinetist Reto Bieri and Camerata Bern to premiere Michael Hersch's Agatha. This is her debut performance with Camerata Bern.

A prolific recording artist, Ms. Hong recorded the American premiere of Johann Sebastian Bach’s Alles mit Gott und nichts ohn’ ihn, BWV 1127, for National Public Radio’s Performance Today. Other recordings include the world premiere of Rebel and Francoeur’s Zélindor, roi des Sylphes (Naxos), Pergolesi’s Stabat Mater (Peter Lee Music), Sentirete una Canzonetta with Harmonious Blacksmith, Ensemble Klang’s recording of Michael Hersch’s cortex and ankle, and debut solo CD on Innova Recordings, the recording featuring Milton Babbitt’s Philomel and Michael Hersch’s a breath upwards. Upcoming recordings include Kurtág’s Kafka Fragments with Patricia Kopatchinskaja on the New Focus label, and a program featuring the music of Georg Friedrich Haas.

Ms. Hong currently serves as faculty on the voice department at the Peabody Conservatory of The Johns Hopkins University.

News

angle-left Ah Young Hong

Ah Young Hong

Sopran

“Fearlessness and consummate artistry” (Opera News)

 

“Fearlessness and consummate artistry” (Opera News)

 

Die Sopranistin Ah Young Hong interpretiert ein sehr breites Repertoire, das Werke von Monteverdi, Bach, Mozart Poulenc bis hin zu Shostakovich, Babbitt, Haas und Kurtág umfasst. Die New York Times lobte sie für ihre Arbeit in Michael Herschs Monodrama On the Threshold of Winter nach dessen Uraufführung als " the opera's blazing, lone star." Nach einer kürzlichen Aufführung, die sie auch geleitet hat, schrieb die Chicago Tribune: "absolutely riveting," und die Chicago Classical Review beschrieb sie so: "fearless presence, wielding her unamplified, bell-like voice like a weaponized instrument. Hong delivered a tour de force vocal performance in this almost unfathomably difficult music-attacking the dizzying high notes with surprising power, racing through the rapid-fire desperation of agitated sections, and bringing a numbed, toneless sprechstimme and contralto-like darkness to the low tessitura."

Weitere Opernauftritte von Ah Young Hong umfassen die Titelpartie in Monteverdis L'incoronazione di Poppea, Morgana in Händels Alcina, Gilda in Verdis Rigoletto, Fortuna und Minerva in Monteverdis Il ritorno d'Ulisse in Patria und Asteria in Händels Tamerlano. Mit der Opera Lafayette trat sie auch auf in Rebel und Francoeurs Zélindor, roi des Sylphes am Rose Theater im Lincoln Center und als La Musique in Charpentiers Les Arts Florissants am Kennedy Center. Für das Wien Modern Festival 2020 wurde Ah Hong Young beauftragt, die Titelrolle in der Uraufführung von Michael Hersch's POPPAEA zu singen.

 

Als Konzert- und Kammersolistin ist sie unter anderem mit dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra, dem FLUX Quartet, dem ensemble-in-residence des Konzerthauses Berlin, dem Ensemble unitedberlin, dem renommierten niederländischen Ensemble für zeitgenössische Musik Klang, dem Daedalus Quartet, dem Wiener KammerOrchester aufgetreten. Im Sommer 2018 gab sie ihr Debüt beim Ojai Festival mit der Geigerin Patricia Kopatchinskaja in György Kurtágs kompletten Kafka-Fragmenten. Darüber hinaus trat Ah Young Hong als Solistin beim Aldeburgh Music Festival 2018 und bei der Cal Performances-Serie in Berkeley auf. Alex Ross von The New Yorker lobte ihre Auftritte als “commanding” und “transfixing.”

In der Saison 2019-2020 wird sie erneut in Herschs Melodram On the Threshold of Winter mit Cantata Profana in New York City bei Brooklyn's Irondale auftreten. Zudem wird sie auch zu Kurtágs Kafka-Fragmenten zurückkehren, mit den Geigern Jacob Ashworth bei Spectrum NYC, Hirono Oka mit Network for New Music in Philadelphia und mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja in der Kammerserie des Seattle Symphony Orchestra. Die Saison beinhaltet auch einen Aufenthalt an der Vanderbilt University Blair School of Music mit den Pianisten Mark Wait, Jacob Rhodebeck und der Geigerin Carolyn Huebl. Im Jahr 2020 wird sie Nørgård's Nova Genitura und Seadrift und Bach's Kantate 82a Ich habe genug mit Hörraum, Beethoven's Symphonie Nr. 9 mit dem Baltimore Symphony Orchestra unter der Leitung von Marin Alsop aufführen. Gemeinsam mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja, dem Klarinettisten Reto Bieri und der CAMERATA BERN wird sie im Februar 2020 Michael Herschs Agatha uraufführen. Dies ist ihr erster Auftritt mit der CAMERATA BERN.

 

Zahlreiche Aufnahmen zeigen ihr breites Repertoire: die amerikanische Erstaufführung von Johann Sebastian Bachs Alles mit Gott und nichts ohn' ihn, BWV 1127 für die Performance Today des National Public Radio,die Uraufführung von Rebel und Francoeurs Zélindor, roi des Sylphes (Naxos), Pergolesis Stabat Mater (Peter Lee Music), Sentirete una Canzonetta mit Harmonious Blacksmith, die Aufnahme von Michael Herschs cortex and ankle durch das Ensemble Klang, ihre Debüt-Solo-CD auf Innova Recordings, die Aufnahme mit Milton Babbitts Philomel und Michael Herschs a breath upwards. Zu den kommenden Aufnahmen gehören Kurtágs Kafka Fragmente mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja bei New Focus und ein Programm mit der Musik von Georg Friedrich Haas.

Ah Young Hong ist derzeit als Dozentin an der Voice-Abteilung des Peabody Conservatory der Johns Hopkins University tätig.