angle-left CD "PLAISIRS ILLUMINÉS with Patricia Kopatchinskaja

CD "PLAISIRS ILLUMINÉS with Patricia Kopatchinskaja

To the Youtube Trailer

"This CD showcases the qualities of the Camerata Bern, with which I have worked for several years now. Two of the three main works on this CD were written for the Camerata Bern and all challenge the ensemble with extremely virtuosic and often soloistic difficulties, calling for individual ability and responsibility from each and every member. At the end we felt as if we had conquered Mount Everest." - Patricia Kopatchinskaja


On our new album "PLAISIRS ILLUMINÉS" with Patricia Kopatchinskaja we recorded highly virtuosic string works from the 20th and 21st centuries. Music by Veress, Bartók, Ginastera, Kurtág and Ligeti feature alongside a newly-commissioned double concerto by Spanish composer Francisco Coll (*1985) starring Sol Gabetta, on this thrilling and powerful new album.

All composers connect through their folkloristic re-imagination of music, as well as an uncompromising physical and sensual approach as they meet dissonances head-on. The line between soloists and chamber musicians is blurred due to the extreme demands put on all players, making for an immersive and gripping listener experience. In addition to Coll, music by Sándor Veress written for CAMERATA BERN in 1965-66 plus a late piece by Alberto Ginastera - combining Argentine folk dances and the composer’s first use of twelve tone technique - provide a focal point for the album. Surrounding this are short pieces by Veress’ teacher, Bela Bartók and Veress’ famous pupils: György Ligeti and György Kurtág.

Composer Francisco Coll - who also paints - took inspiration from the surrealists’ motto "Create impossible worlds in a very realistic way” for his double concerto for violin, cello and chamber orchestra. Named after Salvador Dalí’s work Les Plaisirs Illuminés, the complex work necessitated a conductor for the typically conductor-less CAMERATA BERN - for which composer Francisco Coll rose to the challenge. Much in demand from the world’s leading orchestras, Coll was Composer in Residence with CAMERATA BERN from 2018-2019.

Violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja and cellist Sol Gabetta are long-standing chamber music partners. Regularly performing together in concert, this is the first time they join forces on record. After the very successful album "TIME & ETERNITY", "PLAISIRS ILLUMINÉS" is now the second recording for the label Alpha Classics with Patricia Kopatchinskaja as Artistic Partner.

Release date Switzerland: 4th of December 2020
Release date worldwide and online: 8th of January 2021

angle-left CD "PLAISIRS ILLUMINÉS" mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja

CD "PLAISIRS ILLUMINÉS" mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja

► Zum Youtube Trailer

"Diese CD zeigt die Qualitäten der Camerata Bern, mit der ich seit einigen Jahren zusammenarbeite. Zwei der drei Hauptwerke auf dieser CD wurden für die CAMERATA BERN geschrieben und alle fordern das Ensemble mit äusserst virtuosen und oft auch solistischen Schwierigkeiten. Es brauchte die individuellen Fähigkeiten und das Verantwortungsbewusstsein jedes einzelnen Mitgliedes. Am Ende fühlten wir uns, wie wenn wir den Mount Everest bezwungen hätten." - Patricia Kopatchinskaja
 

Auf unserem neuen Album "PLAISIRS ILLUMINÉS" mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja haben wir hochvirtuose Streicher-Werke des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts eingespielt. Neben Musik von Veress, Bartók, Ginastera, Kurtág und Ligeti ist ein neues, beim spanischen Komponsten Francisco Coll (*1985) in Auftrag gegebenes Doppelkonzert zu hören, das auf diesem spannenden Album gemeinsam mit Sol Gabetta präsentiert wird.

Sämtliche Komponisten verbindet ihre folkloristische Art Musik neu zu denken sowie ein kompromissloser Ansatz, Dissonanzen physisch und sinnlich frontal in Angriff zu nehmen. Die Grenze zwischen den Solistinnen und den Ensemblemitgliedern ist aufgrund der extremen Anforderungen, die an alle Ausführenden gestellt werden, verschwommen, was zu einem eindringlichen und fesselnden Hörerlebnis führt. Neben Colls Werk bildet eine Komposition von Sándor Veress, die er 1965-66 für die CAMERATA BERN schrieb, sowie ein spätes Stück von Alberto Ginastera, bei dem dieser argentinische Volkstänze mit der hier von ihm erstmals eingesetzten Zwölftontechnik kombiniert, einen Schwerpunkt des Albums. Den Rahmen bilden kurze Stücke von Veress' Lehrer Bela Bartók und Veress' berühmten Schülern: György Ligeti und György Kurtág.

Der Komponist Francisco Coll, der auch selbst malt, liess sich bei seinem Doppelkonzert für Violine, Violoncello und Kammerorchester vom Motto der Surrealisten "Unmögliche Welten auf sehr realistische Weise schaffen" inspirieren. Benannt nach Salvador Dalís Werk “Les Plaisirs Illuminés”, erforderte das komplexe Werk einen Dirigenten für die normalerweise dirigentenlose CAMERATA BERN. Eine Herausforderung, die Francisco Coll gern annahm. Von den führenden Orchestern weltweit gefragt, war Coll von 2018-2019 Composer in Residence bei der CAMERATA BERN.

Die Geigerin Patricia Kopatchinskaja und die Cellistin Sol Gabetta sind langjährige Kammermusikpartnerinnen; und obwohl sie regelmäßig zusammen konzertieren, ist dies ihre erste gemeinsame Aufnahme. Nach dem sehr erfolgreichen Album "TIME & ETERNITY" ist "PLAISIRS ILLUMINÉS" nun die zweite Einspielung beim Label Alpha Classics mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja als Artistic Partner.

Veröffentlichungsdatum Schweiz: 4. Dezember 2020
Veröffentlichungsdatum weltweit und online: 8. Januar 2021