News

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

«A force of nature» (Der Tagesspiegel, Berlin)

 

Patricia Kopatchinskaja’s drive to discover stretches from the Renaissance to brand new works, most recently the world premieres of violin concertos by Márton Illés and Francisco Coll (both in 2020). She has also performed vocal roles, for example in Ligeti’s Mysteries of the Macabre or Schönberg’s Pierrot Lunaire with ensembles such as the Berlin Philharmonic. She recently created a film version of Kurt Schwitters’ Dadaistic piece Ursonate.

Kopatchinskaja wants to bring the experience of music into the here and now, also by creating new contexts or stagings: in 2016 she reacted to the stiffness of the classical music world with the project «Bye-Bye Beethoven» with the Mahler Chamber Orchestra in Hamburg, and in 2017 she responded to the global warming crisis in the project «Dies Irae» at Lucerne Festival; both projects have since been repeated on both sides of the Atlantic. The project «Death and the Maiden» with the Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra also came on tour to Europe, and the CD recording on Alpha Classics won a Grammy award in 2018. With CAMERATA BERN she created the projects «War and Chips», «Maria Mater Meretrix» (a musical journey through the lives of women, with Anna Prohaska), and «Time and Eternity», which was released on CD in 2019. 

Patricia Kopatchinskaja has released more than 26 CDs, including recordings with Gidon Kremer and Teodor Currentzis. Further recordings will be released in the near future, including works by Sándor Veress and Alberto Ginastera with CAMERATA BERN, «Maria Mater Meretrix», also with CAMERATA BERN, clarinet trios with Reto Bieri and Polina Leschenko and «What’s Next, Vivaldi?» with Il Giardino Armonico and Giovanni Antonini. In the season 2020/21, Patricia Kopatchinskaja is Artist in Residence with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, the Bamberger Symphony, the Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, the Southbank Centre London and the Alte Oper Frankfurt.

Absage Konzerte im November und Dezember - Informationen zu Ticketrückerstattung und Spenden finden Sie HIER

 

 

 

News

Patricia Kopatchinskaja

«Naturgewalt» (Der Tagesspiegel, Berlin)


Patricia Kopatchinskajas Entdeckerlust reicht von der Renaissance bis zu Uraufführungen, zuletzt der Violinkonzerte von Márton Illés und Francisco Coll (beide 2020). Sie hat sich auch Stimmrollen angeeignet, darunter Ligetis Mysteries of the Macabre oder Schönbergs Pierrot Lunaire, welche sie unter anderem mit den Berliner Philharmonikern aufgeführt hat. Soeben hat sie Kurt Schwitters dadaistische Ursonate verfilmt.

Kopatchinskaja will Musik hier und heute neu erleben lassen, auch durch Schaffung von Kontext oder Inszenierung: So reagierte sie 2016 mit dem Mahler Chamber Orchestra in Hamburg auf den erstarrten Konzertbetrieb mit dem Projekt «Bye-Bye Beethoven» und 2017 beim Lucerne Festival auf die Umweltkrise im Projekt «Dies Irae», beides wurde beidseits des Atlantiks wiederholt. Das Projekt «Der Tod und das Mädchen» mit dem Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, USA, war auch auf Europatournee, und die bei Alpha Classics eingespielte CD gewann 2018 einen Grammy. Mit der CAMERATA BERN realisierte sie unter anderem die Projekte «Krieg und Chips», «Maria Mater Meretrix» (eine musikalische Reise durch die Frauenleben, mit Anna Prohaska) sowie «Zeit und Ewigkeit», welches 2019 auch als CD erschien.

Von Patricia Kopatchinskaja sind mittlerweile 26 CDs erschienen, darunter Einspielungen mit Gidon Kremer und Teodor Currentzis. Weitere Aufnahmen werden in naher Zukunft erscheinen, darunter Werke von Sándor Veress und Alberto Ginastera mit der CAMERATA BERN, «Maria Mater Meretrix» ebenfalls mit der CAMERATA BERN, Klarinettentrios mit Reto Bieri und Polina Leschenko sowie «Whats Next, Vivaldi?» mit Il Giardino Armonico und Giovanni Antonini. In der Saison 2020/21 ist Patricia Kopatchinskaja Artist in Residence beim Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, bei den Bamberger Symphonikern, der Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, dem Southbank Centre London und der Alten Oper Frankfurt.