Season 2021/22

 

 

 

 

News

CAMERATA BERN

«Camerata Bern's performances come across with fiery spirit»
BBC Music Magazine, Februar 2021

CAMERATA BERN combines innovation and quality at the highest possible level. Full of curiosity and joy in playing, the ensemble forges new paths, tests limits, and delights audiences with daring programs. 

Founded in 1962 with the goal of performing as a flexible formation without conductor, CAMERATA BERN is today a world-renowned chamber orchestra with 15 members, all outstanding soloists. Patricia Kopatchinskaja has been Artistic Partner of the ensemble since 2018. 

CAMERATA BERN performs a wide repertoire from baroque to contemporary. With its own concert series in Bern and strong ties to the city, the ensemble also appears regularly at international festivals and at leading concert halls in Switzerland, in Europe, in North and South America, and in Asia, performing with high-profile artists such as Ilya Gringolts, Steven Isserlis, Anna Prohaska, Antje Weithaas, Sergio Azzolini or Kristian Bezuidenhout. Each season the ensemble names a composer in residence, in 2021/22 the Swiss composer Gabrielle Brunner. 

Recordings on CD and vinyl have won several international awards, such as the Grand Prix du Disque, the German Record Critics’ Award or the Echo Klassik. The CD «Time and Eternity» with Patricia Kopatchinskaja was released in September 2019 and shortlisted in 2020 for the Gramophone Award. Also in 2020, the album «Plaisirs illuminés» with Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Sol Gabetta and a commissioned work by Francisco Coll (Composer in Residence 2018/19) was released and picked as Gramophone magazine’s Editor’s Choice. 

With over 200 concerts in schools in the Canton Bern since 2010, the CAMERATA BERN carries out significant work in music education for children. 

The CAMERATA BERN foundation is subsidized by the city of Bern, the Canton Bern and the regional conference Bern-Mittelland. The foundation receives support from the Burgergemeinde Bern, the Ursula Wirz Foundation as well as other foundations, partners and sponsors.

News

CAMERATA BERN

«Camerata Bern's performances come across with fiery spirit»
BBC Music Magazine, Februar 2021

Die CAMERATA BERN steht für Innovation und Qualität auf Spitzenniveau. Und dafür, mit viel Neugier und Spielfreude immer wieder neue Wege zu gehen, Grenzen auszuloten und mit mutigen Programmen das Publikum zu begeistern. 

Gegründet 1962 mit der Idee, als flexible Formation ohne Dirigenten zu konzertieren, ist die CAMERATA BERN heute ein weltweit anerkanntes Kammerorchester, dessen 15 Mitglieder allesamt auch hervorragende Solist*innen sind. Seit 2018 ist Patricia Kopatchinskaja dem Ensemble als Artistic Partner verbunden. 

Die CAMERATA BERN pflegt ein breites Repertoire von Barock bis Zeitgenössisch. Verwurzelt in Bern mit eigener Konzertreihe, gastiert sie regelmässig bei internationalen Festivals und in führenden Konzerthäusern in der Schweiz, in Europa, Nord- und Südamerika und Asien. Sie arbeitet dabei mit renommierten Künstler*innen zusammen, wie beispielsweise Ilya Gringolts, Steven Isserlis, Anna Prohaska, Antje Weithaas, Sergio Azzolini oder Kristian Bezuidenhout. Pro Saison lädt sie ebenfalls eine*n Composer in Residence ein, 2021/22 die Schweizer Komponistin Gabrielle Brunner. 

Die Einspielungen des Ensembles haben mehrere internationale Auszeichnungen gewonnen, so etwa den Grand Prix du Disque, den Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik oder den Echo Klassik. Die CD «Time & Eternity» mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja wurde 2020 für den Gramophone Award nominiert. Zuletzt erschien im Dezember 2020 das von der Kritik begeistert aufgenommene Album «Plaisirs illuminés» mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja, Sol Gabetta und einem Auftragswerk von Francisco Coll (Composer in Residence 2018/19) bei Alpha Classics.

Einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Musikvermittlung an Kinder leistet die CAMERATA BERN seit 2010 mit bisher rund 200 Konzerten in Schulen des Kantons Bern. 

Die STIFTUNG CAMERATA BERN wird von der Stadt Bern, dem Kanton Bern und der Regionalkonferenz Bern-Mittelland subventioniert. Sie erhält Förderbeiträge von der Burgergemeinde Bern, der Ursula Wirz-Stiftung sowie weiteren Stiftungen, Partnern und Sponsoren.