Die Saison 2019-2020

 

 

 

 

News

«Composer in Residence» – Michael Hersch (*1971)

A composer of “uncompromising brilliance” (The Washington Post), whose work has been further described by The New York Times as “viscerally gripping and emotionally transformative music ... claustrophobic and exhilarating at once, with moments of sublime beauty nestled inside thickets of dark virtuosity,” Michael Hersch is widely regarded as among today’s most gifted artists. Hersch's work "marries a volcanic New World energy to a deeply skeptical, often angst-ridden spiritual climate." (Andrew Clark, Financial Times).

Recent events and premieres include his Violin Concerto at the Lucerne Festival in Switzerland and the Avanti Festival in Helsinki; new productions of his monodrama, On the Threshold of Winter, in Chicago, Salt Lake City, and Washington D.C., and his I hope we get a chance to visit soon at the Ojai and Aldeburgh Festivals, where Mr. Hersch was a 2018 featured composer.

Over the past several years, Hersch has also written new works for the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, Ensemble Klang, the Alban Berg Ensemble Wien, Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra, and the Library of Congress. Other notable recent events include European performances by the Kreutzer Quartet of Images from a Closed Ward in the U.K. and Sweden, a recording of the work by the acclaimed FLUX Quartet, a work for solo violin commissioned by the New York Philharmonic, premiered at the orchestra’s Biennial in 2014. At the 2019 Wien Modern Festival, Mr. Hersch’s 12-hour chamber cycle, sew me into a shroud of leaves, a trilogy of works which occupied him between 2001-2016, will receive its world premiere.

In recent years, Hersch has worked closely with violinist Patricia Kopatchinskaja, the violinist commissioning both his Violin Concerto, which premiered in 2015, and his chamber work ... das Rückgrat berstend, which premiered at New York City’s Park Avenue Armory during the autumn of 2017. She recently recorded the concerto with the International Contemporary Ensemble (I.C.E.), and the duo with cellist Jay Campbell.

Notable past performances include Night Pieces, commissioned and premiered by the Cleveland Orchestra, and a song cycle for baritone and piano, Domicilium, commissioned and premiered by Thomas Hampson and Wolfgang Rieger on San Francisco Performances. Hersch’s second piano concerto, along the ravines, was given performances with the Deutsche Radio Philharmonie and the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, and as part of the George Enescu International Festival in Romania (Timisoara and Bucharest). Mr. Hersch’s end stages was commissioned and premiered by the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, his Zwischen Leben und Tod recently received it’s European premiere, and A Forest of Attics, commissioned for the Network for New Music’s 25th anniversary season, was selected as one of the year’s most important classical music events by The Philadelphia Inquirer. The paper said of the work, “A Forest of Attics threw a Molotov cocktail into the concert: Everything before it paled in comparison ... Hersch has written some towering works in recent years; this is yet another.”

Also a pianist, noted for his “astounding facility at the keyboard” (International Piano), Mr. Hersch has appeared around the world including appearances at the Aldeburgh Festival, the Festival Dag in de Branding in the Netherlands, the Warhol Museum, the Romaeuropa Festival, the Ojai Festival, the Phillips Collection in Washington D.C., Cleveland’s Reinberger Chamber Hall, the Festival of Contemporary Music Nuova Consonanza, the Network for New Music Concert Series, the Left Bank Concert Society, Festa Europea della Musica, St. Louis’ Sheldon Concert Hall, and in New York City at Merkin Concert Hall, the 92nd St. Y - Tisch Center for the Performing Arts, and Carnegie Hall’s Weill Recital Hall, among others.

Born in Washington D.C. in 1971, Michael Hersch came to international attention at age twenty- five, when he was awarded First Prize in the Concordia American Composers Awards. The award resulted in a performance of his Elegy, conducted by Marin Alsop in New York’s Alice Tully Hall. Later that year he became one of the youngest recipients ever of a Guggenheim Fellowship in Composition. Mr. Hersch has also been the recipient of the Rome Prize, the Berlin Prize, the Goddard Lieberson Fellowship and Charles Ives Scholarship from the American Academy of Arts & Letters, and the President’s Frontier Award from the Johns Hopkins University, among other honors.

Mr. Hersch currently serves as chair of the department of composition at the Peabody Conservatory.

News

«Composer in Residence» – Michael Hersch (*1971)


Michael Hersch - Ein Komponist von „kompromissloser Brillanz“ (The Washington Post), dessen Werke von der New York Times als “viszeral ergreifende und emotional transformative Musik“ beschrieben wurden, „klaustrophobisch und berauschend zugleich, mit Augenblicken von sublimer Schönheit, die sich an Dickichte von dunkler Virtuosität anschmiegen“.

 

Michael Hersch wird weithin als einer der begabtesten Künstler von heute betrachtet. Seine Kompositionen „vereinigen eine vulkanische Neue-Welt-Energie mit einem tief skeptischen, oft von Angst erfüllten geistigen Klima“. (Andrew Clark, Financial Times)

Zu den neuesten Aufführungen und Uraufführungen zählen sein Violinkonzert beim Lucerne Festival und beim Avanti Festival in Helsinki; neue Produktionen seines Monodramas On the Threshold of Winter (Auf der Schwelle zum Winter) in Chicago, Salt Lake City und Washington D.C. und sein I hope we get a chance to visit soon (Ich hoffe, wir bekommen bald eine Gelegenheit, uns zu treffen) an den Ojai und Aldeburgh Festivals, wo Hersch 2018 „featured composer“ war.

In den letzten Jahren hat Michael Hersch auch neue Werke für das Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, das Ensemble Klang, das Alban Berg Ensemble Wien, das Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra und das Library of Congress geschrieben. Weitere beachtenswerte Ereignisse waren europäische Aufführungen von „Images from a Closed Ward“ (Bilder von einer geschlossenen Anstalt) in Grossbritannien und Schweden durch das Kreutzer Quartett, eine Aufnahme vom gleichen Werk mit dem renommierten FLUX Quartett und ein Werkauftrag des New York Philharmonic Orchestras für Solovioline, das 2014 an der Biennale des Orchesters uraufgeführt wurde. Am Wien Modern Festival 2019 wird sein 12-stündiger Kammermusikzyklus „sew me into a shroud of leaves“ (nähe mich in ein Leichentuch aus Blättern ein) uraufgeführt, eine Trilogie von Werken, die ihn zwischen 2001 und 2016 beschäftigt haben.

 

In jüngster Zeit hat Michael Hersch eng mit der Geigerin Patricia Kopatchinskaja zusammengearbeitet, die ihm Werkaufträge sowohl für sein Violinkonzert, 2015 uraufgeführt, sowie für sein Kammermusikwerk „…das Rückgrat berstend“ gegeben hat, das am Park Avenue Armory in New York im Herbst 2017 uraufgeführt wurde. Patricia Kopatchinskaja hat unlängst das Violinkonzert mit dem International Contemporary Ensemble (I.C.E.) und das Duo mit dem Cellisten Jay Campbell aufgenommen.

Viel beachtete Aufführungen in letzter Zeit beinhalten die vom Cleveland Orchestra bestellten und uraufgeführten Night Pieces (Nachtstücke) sowie einen Liedzyklus für Bariton und Klavier Domicilium, der von Thomas Hampson und Wolfgang Rieger in Auftrag gegeben und in San Francisco uraufgeführt wurde. Herschs zweites Klavierkonzert along the ravines (den Schluchten entlang) wurde durch die Deutsche Radio Philharmonie und das Seattle Symphony Orchestra, sowie als Teil des George Enescu International Festivals in Rumänien (Timisoara und Bukarest) aufgeführt. Das Orpheus Chamber Orchestra gab einen Auftrag für end stages (Endstadien), das in der Carnegie Hall aufgeführt wurde. Zwischen Leben und Tod erlebte kürzlich seine europäische Premiere. Als einen der wichtigsten Events der klassischen Musik des Jahres bezeichnete The Philadelphia Inquirer das Werk A Forest of Attics (Ein Wald von Dachkammern), ein Auftragswerk des Network for New Music anlässlich seiner 25 Jahre Jubiläums-Saison. Die Zeitung schrieb: „A Forest of Attics warf einen Molotov-Cocktail ins Konzert. Alles Vorangegangene verblasste im Vergleich… Hersch hat in den letzten Jahren einige herausragende Werke komponiert; hier ist ein weiteres."

 

Auch als Pianist, für seine „stupende Fertigkeit am Klavier“ (International Piano) bekannt, ist Michael Hersch weltweit aufgetreten, unter anderem beim Aldeburgh Festival, Dag in de Branding Festival in den Niederlanden, am Warhol Museum, am Romaeuropa Festival, Ojai Festival, Phillips Collection in Washington D.C., Reinberger Chamber Hall in Cleveland, am Nuova Consonanza Festival für zeitgenössische Musik, in den Konzertreihen des Network for New Music, an der Left Bank Concert Society, Festa Europea della Musica, Sheldon Concert Hall in St. Louis, und in New York in der Merkin Concert Hall, 92nd St. Y - Tisch Center for the Performing Arts, Carnegie Hall Weill Recital Hall.

1971 in Washington D.C. geboren, erlangte Michael Hersch internationale Aufmerksamkeit, als er mit 25 den ersten Preis des Concordia American Composers Awards erhielt, der ihm eine Aufführung seiner Elegy in der Alice Tully Hall in New York bescherte, dirigiert von Marin Alsop. Im gleichen Jahr wurde er als einer der jüngsten Empfänger dr Guggenheim Fellowship für Komposition geehrt. Weitere Auszeichnungen waren der Rome Prize, der Berlin Prize, die Goddard Lieberson Fellowship und das Charles Ives Stipendium durch die American Academy of Arts & Letters, sowie der President’s Frontier Award durch die Johns Hopkins Universtität.

Michael Hersch hat heute die Professur für Komposition am Peabody Institute der Johns Hopkins Universität in Baltimore, Maryland inne.