New album "Time & Eternity" with Patricia Kopatchinskaja released on September 13th 2019

New album "Time & Eternity" with Patricia Kopatchinskaja released on September 13th 2019

Trailer Youtube

"This music is made out of the blood and tears of tortured souls: a strangled scream, voices muttering amid a terrified silence, the sounds of war in an improvised cadenza. It is about us, our past and our future. At the centre is Hartmann’s Concerto funebre. Juxtaposed is Frank Martin’s Polyptyque, a piece about God’s Passion and the misery endured to attain eternal salvation for humankind. The Concerto funebre, which can also be seen as a Passion, is a testimony to the wrongs that have been done – and are still being done – to human beings, to creation, and to the Creator.”  Patricia Kopatchinskaja

CAMERATA BERNs debut album with Patricia Kopatchinskaja "TIME & ETERNITY" is an uncompromising meditation on the human condition. It spans 600 years of music.  

Fiercely original in concept, TIME & ETERNITY opens with the Kol Nidre, the introductory prayer to Yom Kippur, read by a cantor of the Jewish community, followed by John Zorn’s (born 1953) eponymous musical contemplation on the same, setting the spiritual tone of the programme.

Karl Amadeus Hartmann (1905-1963)’s Concerto funebre forms the centerpiece of the album. Composed in 1939, it expresses his outrage at the Nazis’ terror in Germany, Czechoslovakia and Poland. It had to wait until the end of World War Two before being performed in Germany. Around it a Polish Catholic priest and a Russian Orthodox priest each say a short prayer, while Polish folk singers present two songs quoted in Hartmann’s concerto: the Jewish song Eliyahu hanavi, expressing the hope of salvation and the Russian song Immortal victims from the first Russian revolution in 1905. 

This is followed by Frank Martin’s (1890-1974) Polyptyque for violin and two small string orchestras. Commissioned in 1973 by Yehudi Menuhin, it was inspired by six scenes from the Passion of Christ painted by Duccio di Buoninsegna (1255-1319) for the altar Maestà in Siena. The Kyrie from Guillaume de Machaut (1300-1377)’s Messe de Nostre Dame, in an arrangement for strings, evokes the music of Buoninsegna’s time, while string orchestra transcriptions of J.S. Bach chorales are interspersed between the movements of Polyptyque, “as an invocation of eternal consolation” [Patricia Kopatchinskaja]. 

Meanwhile the powerfully ominous violin and percussion duet Crux by Czech composer Luboš Fišer (1935-1999) represents the crucifixion scene which, while having the central position on Buoninsegna’s altar, was omitted in Frank Martin’s composition. Fišer condensed this piece from his Requiem, written in reaction to the brutal 1968 Sovjet crushing of the Prague spring. It was premiered there in 1970 against political resistance by a courageous Gidon Kremer. The album ends with a transcription for string orchestra of a chorale from the St. John Passion, as a hopeful call to everlasting salvation.

The programme received its world premiere performance in the candlelit French church in Bern, Switzerland, in September 2018.

CD "Time & Eternity" mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja

CD "Time & Eternity" mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Trailer Youtube

"Diese Musik besteht aus dem Blut und den Tränen gequälter Seelen: ein erstickter Schrei, Stimmen, die inmitten einer verängstigten Stille murmeln, die Geräusche des Krieges in einer improvisierten Kadenz. Es geht um uns, unsere Vergangenheit und unsere Zukunft. Im Zentrum steht Hartmanns Concerto funebre. Nebeneinander steht Frank Martins Polyptyque, ein Stück über Gottes Leiden und das Leid, das er ertragen musste, um die ewige Erlösung für die Menschheit zu erlangen. Das Concerto funebre, das auch als Leidenschaft angesehen werden kann, ist ein Zeugnis für das Unrecht, das den Menschen, der Schöpfung und dem Schöpfer angetan wurde und noch immer angetan wird. - Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Unser erstes Album mit Patricia Kopatchinskaja "TIME & ETERNITY" ist eine kompromisslose Meditation über den menschlichen Zustand und umfasst über 600 Jahre Musik. Es beginnt mit dem Kol Nidre, dem Einführungsgebet zu Yom Kippur, das von einem Kantor der jüdischen Gemeinde gelesen wird, gefolgt von John Zorns (geb. 1953) gleichnamiger musikalischer Betrachtung über dasselbe, die den spirituellen Ton des Programms bestimmt.

Karl Amadeus Hartmanns (1905-1963) Concerto funebre bildet das Herzstück des Albums. Er wurde 1939 komponiert und bringt seine Empörung über den Terror der Nazis in Deutschland, der Tschechoslowakei und Polen zum Ausdruck. Es musste bis zum Ende des Zweiten Weltkriegs warten, bevor es in Deutschland aufgeführt wurde. Um sie herum sprechen jeweils ein polnisch-katholischer Priester und ein russisch-orthodoxer Priester ein kurzes Gebet, während polnische Volkssänger zwei in Hartmanns Konzert zitierte Lieder präsentieren: das jüdische Lied Eliyahu hanavi, das die Hoffnung auf Erlösung ausdrückt, und das russische Lied Unsterbliche Opfer der ersten russischen Revolution 1905. 

Es folgen Frank Martins (1890-1974) Polyptyque für Violine und zwei kleine Streichorchester. Im Jahr 1973 von Yehudi Menuhin in Auftrag gegeben, wurde es von sechs Szenen aus der Passion Christi inspiriert, die von Duccio di Buoninsegna (1255-1319) für den Altar Maestà in Siena gemalt wurden. Der Kyrie von Guillaume de Machaut (1300-1377), erinnert in einem Arrangement für Streicher an die Musik der Zeit Buoninsegnas, während die Transkriptionen von J.S. Bach-Choralen zwischen den Sätzen der Polyptyque "als Anrufung des ewigen Trostes" verstreut sind. 

Das kraftvoll bedrohliche Geigen- und Schlagzeugduett Crux des tschechischen Komponisten Luboš Fišer (1935-1999) stellt die Kreuzigungsszene dar, die zwar die zentrale Position auf Buoninsegnas Altar einnahm, in Frank Martins Komposition aber weggelassen wurde. Fišer verdichtete dieses Stück aus seinem Requiem, das als Reaktion auf die brutale Zerstörung des Prager Frühlings durch den Sowjet von 1968 geschrieben wurde. Dort wurde sie 1970 gegen den politischen Widerstand von einem mutigen Gidon Kremer uraufgeführt. Das Album endet mit einer Transkription eines Chores aus der Johannespassion für Streichorchester als hoffnungsvoller Aufruf zur ewigen Erlösung.

Das Programm wurde im September 2018 in der bei Kerzenlicht erleuchteten Französischen Kirche in Bern uraufgeführt.