angle-left Hamburg - Elbphilharmonie

Hamburg - Elbphilharmonie

Friday16. December 2022 8.00 PM Elbphilharmonie Grosser Saal

Hamburg - Elbphilharmonie

Ilya Gringolts — Leitung und Violine


Arcangelo Corelli (1653–1764)
Concerto grosso Op. 6 Nr.8 Fatto per la notte di Natale


Pietro Locatelli (1695–1713)
Violinkonzert in D-Dur, Op. 3 No. 12 Il Labirinto Armonico


Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy (1809–1847)
Sinfoniesatz in c-Moll MWV N 14

Niccolò Paganini (1782–1840)
Violinkonzert Nr. 1 in Es-Dur op. 6 (Originalfassung) in einer Bearbeitung für Streichorchester von Bernard Rofe

«You can hardly play the violin more expressively, more uncompromisingly than Gringolts,» writes Harald Eggebrecht in the Süddeutsche Zeitung about this exceptional musician. Ilya Gringolts won the renowned Paganini Competition at the age of 16. Since then, he has put his virtuosity at the service of subtle interpretations. Together with the CAMERATA BERN, he presents a programme of works from the end of the 17th to the beginning of the 19th century – the period in which violin artistry flourished in Italy: While violin makers were creating what are still the most valuable and best-sounding instruments, musicians were advancing their playing techniques.

Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713) and Pietro Antonio Locatelli (1695-1764) were highly influential throughout Europe as masters of their instruments, conductors, composers, and teachers. The famous Concerto in G minor by Corelli, who lived in the cultural metropolis of Rome and who counted Locatelli amongst his pupils, was premiered on Christmas Eve in 1690 before the Pope. Locatelli's impressive caprices and concertos in turn left their mark on works by Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840). With his moving Violin Concerto No. 1, he demonstrated his seemingly superhuman technical abilities, for which he was admired as a soloist on tours throughout Europe. Ilya Gringolts and the Camerata Bern perform the concerto in its original version in E flat major, which is even more technically challenging than the widely used version in D major and therefore rarely heard in the concert hall.