Suyeon 2 high quality Credit Simon Darby

On the Road Subscription series concert

Sat, 24 May 2025 17:00 Bern, Zentrum Paul Klee Suyeon Kang
Direction and Violin
Further date Sun, 25 May 2025 17:00

Works by Bach, Schnittke, Haydn and Boccherini


Luigi Boccherini (1743–1805)
String Quintet in C major, Op. 30 No. 6, Musica Notturna delle strade di Madrid

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750)
Prelude and Fugue No. 15 in G major from the Well-Tempered Clavier BWV 860
Arranged by Suyeon Kang

Joseph Haydn (1732–1809)
Violin Concerto in G major Hob.VIIa:4


Johann Sebastian Bach
Prelude and Fugue No. 16 in G minor from the Well-Tempered Clavier BWV 861
Arranged by Suyeon Kang

Alfred Schnittke (1934–1998)
String Quartet No. 3
Version for string orchestra

Johann Sebastian Bach
Prelude No. 8 in E flat minor from the Well-Tempered Clavier BWV 853
Arranged by Suyeon Kang

Programme with interval
Running time: approx. 1.5 hours

About the programme

“We’re all ‘on the road ’ from the first day of our lives: as soon as we’re catapulted into this universe, we find ourselves on a constant journey, experiencing constant change.

As musicians, we are often on the move. Being on the road brings the true meaning of home into question: on one hand, it can be a place of repose and trust, but it can also be the most complex puzzle of all.

This program is a small reflection on being on the road, and also the question of home: we begin with Luigi Boccherini’s Musica Notturna from 1780, a symbolic journey through nocturnal Madrid. Then we travel back two decades into the bright daylight of Joseph Haydn’s rarely performed Violin Concerto in G Major.

Then a big leap to the central piece, Schnittke’s String Quartet No. 3. Atonality, neoclassicism, biting representation of the contemporary world, yet with notable homages to tradition: quotes from Orlando di Lasso, Beethoven and Schostakowitsch can be heard throughout.

In between will be arrangements of short interludes from J.S. Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier. Bach’s music is the foundation for us musicians, yet at the same time represents one of the greatest challenges – similar to how we may see the question of home. Many a musician still scratches their head over a Bach despite having played his music hundreds of times.

These pieces serve as a constant ‘coming back home’ on the journey through life and through time.”

Suyeon Kang

Ticket pricing

This concert is also available as part of a subscription

Ticket pricing:
CHF 45.–/ 65.–/ 85.–
CHF 5.– for children and teenagers 18 and under

Discounts (for all categories):
20% for members of the Friends of CAMERATA BERN
50% for young adults aged 19 to 30
30% for KulturLegi cardholders

Kultur-GA: free admission for remaining same-day seats

Refugees (with ID): free admission for remaining same-day seats

Programme booklet

In-depth insights into the concert programme, with detailed descriptions of the works and biographies of participating artists. The evening programme booklet is available (in German only) as a PDF download starting approximately one week before the concert and is distributed free of charge at the concert.

The texts are produced in collaboration with the Institute for Musicology at the University of Bern.

Introductory podcast

Background information and context for the programmes, with musical sneak peeks and sound bites from the performers.

The podcast is available (in German only) from approximately 10 days before the concert.

Upcoming Concerts

2023 10 Aktuell 12nach12


Sat, 24 May 2025 17:00 Bern, Aula PROGR
Steven Isserlis
Direction and Cello
Romantic classical

Romantic Classicists / Classical Romantics

Sat, 24 May 2025 17:00 Bern, Casino Bern
Steven Isserlis
Direction and Cello

Works by Beethoven, Boccherini, Mendelssohn and others

Um unsere Website für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Weitere Informationen zu Cookies erhalten Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.